Children's Honors Physician Board Members with Endowed Chairs

Children's of Alabama has honored four members of its Board of Trustees who each have over 20 years of service by establishing endowed chairs in their names:

Jeffrey Blount, MD, is the first holder of the Raymond J. Harbert Endowed Chair in Pediatric Neurosurgery. He is the division director and chief of pediatric neurosurgery at Children's. He is also the medical director of the Spina Bifida Clinic and surgical director of the Pediatric Surgery Epilepsy Program.

Santiago Borasino, MD, MPH, is the first holder of the Donald M. James Endowed Chair in Pediatric Cardiac Intensive Care. He serves as an attending physician in the Children's Pediatric Intensive Care Unit, section head of the cardiac intensivists team and medical director and attending physician of the Cardiovascular Intensive Care Unit.

David Askenazi, MD, MSPH, is the first holder of the W. Charles Mayer Endowed Chair in Pediatric Nephrology. He serves as the medical director of the Pediatric Home Hemodialysis Program, the Pediatric Acute Kidney Injury Survivor Clinic and the Pediatric and Infant Acute Nephrology program, a program he founded.

Drew Davis, MD, is the first holder of the Temple W. Tutwiler, III Endowed Chair in Pediatric Rehabilitation Medicine. He is the medical director for the division of pediatric rehabilitation medicine as well as the Children's of Alabama Early Intervention Program. He is a member of the hospital's Comprehensive Spina Bifida Program and Muscular Dystrophy Care Center.